September 17 2011 Autocross Results

Jason Powell wins 2011 Autocross Championship!

The 2011 Autox season came to a close with the final event on September 17. Going into the event, there was three-way tie for first place among Harvey Nuttall, Jason Powell and Carl Zmijewski. The day brought out what may have been a record turn-out of 29 drivers, several participating with us for the first time. The new timing equipment worked great!

Jason won the A/AA class with the fastest time of the day of 43.931 seconds, about 1-1/2 seconds faster than the next fastest BMW! By taking first in class in the three events he attended this year, Jason earned 27 points and the season trophy. Harvey Nuttall finished second in B/C/D class in this event which landed him second overall for the season with 24 points. Jim Voth, in his first event with us, won B/C/D class at the September event.

Full points standings for the season are included on this month's timing sheet. Photos and videos from the events can be found on the club Facebook page.

Our four events were a success this year, with participation steadily increasing as the season progressed. Rookie organizers Carl Zmijewski & Eve Dolenski were relieved that the first event had only 13 participants, giving them a chance to figure things out with a smaller crowd. The events proved to be a good family activity with several parents bringing sons & daughters along to participate. We had many novices join us this year, and, based on the grins on their faces at the end of the day, we expect many to return in 2012.

We thank The Tire Rack for providing an outstanding venue for our Autocross program. We also thank Bimmerworld and The Tire Rack for providing prizes in 2011.