July 14 2012 Autocross Results

Autox #3,  July 14, 2012

Another great day of Autocross competition with twenty-seven drivers competing in twenty-three cars.  Chris Itterly's highly modified 1979 323i saw a lot of track time, being shared by three drivers.  Chris, the current points leader, again won B/C/D class with a time of 45.498 seconds.  Second in this class was John Whalen, also driving Chris' car.  Randy VonSteinen finished third in his 135i.

In class A/AA, Jason Powell was competing in a black E36 M3 borrowed from a friend as his E36 M3 needed clutch work and wasn't yet ready for competition.  Turns out this friend's car is set up for NASA Time Trial Competition.  Pretty nice to have a friend like that!  Jason put on a great show as the car handled a little bit differently than his M3. Jason won class A/AA by about a 1-1/2 second margin with a very fast time of 41.651 seconds.  Ralph Sampson, who was only able to compete in the morning runs, posted an adjusted time of 43.121 seconds to place second in class. Carl Zmijewski finished third, with a time of 43.248 seconds. 

In class E, Steve Tamandli posted the fastest time of the day of 40.458 seconds in his highly modified 1985 orange Fiero.  Matt Napieralski finished second in his Porsche with a time of 44.101 seconds and Alan Ford took home third place with a time of 44.561 seconds in his 1972 Porsche 214.  Alan did let us know that this Porsche is for sale if anyone is looking for a fast car!

Several drivers benefitted from great coaching from Ralph Sampson, Chris Itterly, Jason Powell and Jim Lynch.  It's great to watch the times improve, as drivers learn from eachother and find ways to to go just a little bit faster.  Harvey and Abby Nuttall fought it out sharing the same car with Harvey finishing just three tenths of a second faster to claim household bragging rights for the next few weeks.  Eve Dolenski showed some great improvement this month, a result of coaching from Chris Itterly in June and Ralph Sampson in July.  At 46.216 seconds, she was the fastest female until Fran Napieralski, in her red Z3, ran her 7th and 8th runs, both under 46 seconds!

With just two events remaining, Chris Itterly is in the lead for the season championship with 27 points, Jason Powell in second with 18, followed by Jim Lynch in his Mini Cooper at 15 points. 

Thank you to all who helped out and to those who pre-registered.  The next event is August 11, at the Tire Rack.  Photos will be posted to Facebook (thanks Harvey!)