August 11 2012 Autocross Results

It wasn’t supposed to rain.  But rain it did, and the track was wet for the morning runs.  After lunch, things dried out, we finally chalked the cones and things improved all around.  The small turnout allowed us to run 6 runs in the afternoon, instead of the typical 4, somewhat making up for the sloppy morning.

Scott Nardin posted the fastest time of the day at 42.635 seconds in his 1996 white Solo Vee.  The fastest BMW was Jason Powell (class AA) at 46.546.  Finishing second and third respectively in class A/AA were Ralph Sampson (class A) and Carl Zmijewski (class AA).

Chris Itterly (class B) won the B/C/D class with a time of 50.894.  He was followed by Harvey Nuttall (class C) and Abby Nuttall (class C) finishing second and third, respectively.

Finishing second and third in class E were Steve Tamandli and Ricardo Gonzales. 

With four of five events behind us, the points leader is Chris Itterly (class B) with 36 points, who has won the B/C/D class at all four events this season.   Jason Powell (class AA) is in second with 27 points, having won the A/AA class for the three events he attended.  Tied for third are Ralph Sampson (class A) & Jim Lynch (class A) at 18 points each.  There is a 3-way tie for 5th, with Carl Zmijewski (class A), Harvey Nuttall (class C) and Matthew Huizing (class C) each with 12 points.

We welcomed two novices at this event, Emmanuel Camus in a yellow Porsche Cayman and Jennifer Hauch in her yellow Mini Cooper S.  Ralph Sampson coached Emmanuel and coaching Jennifer was Chris Itterly.  Jennifer’s parents came along to watch and capture on film that triumphant smile on her face as she lowered her time with every attempt. 

Our final event is September 8.  Come along to play or come to watch.  We’ll toast the champion and the season at a local bar/restaurant following the event.  Check back to the website & Facebook page for location of the celebration.