September 8 2012 Autocross Results

Autox 2012 comes to a close with a beautiful day and exciting competition at our fifth and final event.  Jason Powell posted a 39.281 second run which earned him the fastest time of the day and the win in Class AA.  Winning Class A was Ralph Sampson with a time of 40.630 seconds.  Class B winner was Randy VonSteinen with a time of 42.706 seconds.  Posting a time of 43.738 seconds earned Dustin Crider the Class C title and fastest novice of the day.  Class E winner was Don Sjolin at 39.929 seconds.

Congratulations to season overall Co-Champions:  Chris Itterly & Jason Powell!  Both competed in 4 of 5 events, winning their class each and every time with impressive performances.  Third overall in points was Ralph Sampson.

Season class winners were Jason Powell in class AA (36 points), Ralph Sampson in class A (22 points), Chris Itterly in class B (36 points) and Harvey Nuttall in class C (16 points).

Next up for many of us is the Oktoberfest Autocross on September 20 & 21.  Eight of our regular season Autox-ers are competing on Thursday & Friday hoping to make our chapter proud.                

A big thank you to all who helped make the season successful.  In-car coaches Chris Itterly, Ralph Sampson, Jason Powell and Jim Lynch provided coaching helping novices learn the sport and helping experienced drivers improve their times.  Al Cardenas and Greg Strader arrived up early to help set up the course.  Harvey Nuttall, Brad Pines & Al Cardenas took the photos that you’ll find on Facebook.  Jim Lynch and Dave Dolenski started cars, rain or shine.  All who helped with scoring, staging and chasing cones, we thank you, the program isn’t possible without your help!

We thank The Tire Rack who has provided us with a terrific venue for competition for our season.  The Tire Rack and Bimmerworld supplied prizes for the winners.  Please consider both companies for your future tire, wheel and parts needs.